Tags

,

Messy Room by Shel Silverstein
Whosever room this is should be ashamed!
His underwear is hanging on the lamp.
His raincoat is there in the overstuffed chair,
And the chair is becoming quite mucky and damp.
His workbook is wedged in the window,
His sweater’s been thrown on the floor.
His scarf and one ski are beneath the TV,
And his pants have been carelessly hung on the door.
His books are all jammed in the closet,
His vest has been left in the hall.
A lizard named Ed is asleep in his bed,
And his smelly old sock has been stuck to the wall.
Whosever room this is should be ashamed!
Donald or Robert or Willie or–
Huh? You say it’s mine? Oh, dear,
I knew it looked familiar!

 

The days before I leave for a long trip I turn the house into a war zone: clothes everywhere, dishes undone, things not picked up.  This past December before leaving for a two-week vacation, I was careful to clean: vacuum the steps, wipe down the counters, put things away.  The house looked great. Even the garage was in good shape. The WHOLE house clean, EXCEPT the study.

The study, which I am sitting in as I write this, was completely cluttered. We had, as mentioned above, cleaned the garage. This means that the last few boxes that have yet to be unpacked are now sitting in the study along with scrapbook supplies, books, games, office supplies, wrapping paper and wires.  It is a mess.

My vacation was wonderful. I thought that the clean house to come home to would be an added reward, but instead of seeing ALL the beautiful rooms in my house, I kept thinking back to the study. The study is a mess.  I couldn’t let it go. When I get back i need to clean the study was all I kept telling myself.

All that said, it has been a week since I got back and guess what? The study is still a mess. I haven’t done a thing with it.

I hope to clean it soon… Maybe I’ll even post pictures here to show it off to you, but for now, it is as it was three weeks ago.

I have the same thought process with myself.  I accomplish so much and still only focus on what still needs to be fixed.  It makes it difficult for me to relax and enjoy the good things.

I don’t know what the solution is.  Clearly I can’t ignore the messy room forever; it will have to be cleaned. The house is an ongoing effort.  I doubt, even when the messy room is no longer messy, that I will have a completely clean house. So, I guess, I have to just keep reminding myself that even though there are things to improve, I have plenty to be happy about.

 

