Tags

,

I am a sleeper. I love to sleep! It is my stress relief, and a favorite pastime. Sleep is a beautiful thing that must not be wasted. In my case, however, there are only two ways in which I can fall asleep.
 
The first requires three things: a couch, a TV, and a blanket. This method happens gradually at first. I sit down on the couch, finish dinner and watch some TV.  At some point I decide I’m a little chilly so I find a blanket. I’m asleep within the first 30 minutes of wrapping up.
 
The second is more specific. I can only fall asleep in my bed in one position. It all started in 2006 when I got my first apartment.  It was January and the heat was controlled by the landlord. He was either slow to raise the heat, or we were slow to complain, I don’t remember which one. Either way, the heat was low and the apartment was very cold. To offset this I wore several layers and used every blanket I owned. I was still cold, so I would pull the hood of my sweatshirt over my head, lay tummy down under the covers, tuck my arms in underneath my torso and turn my head to the left. I found this position very comfortable as long as there was no hair on my neck.  This is now the only position I can fall asleep in.
 
Oh, one last thing, don’t wake me up after I’ve fallen asleep….I become a fire monster.
 
Goodnight!
