Tags

, , ,

Disclaimer: a lot of people find eggs, discussions about eggs, and/or particular preparation of eggs disgusting. I’m not one of these people, although I think I know of one in Massachusetts.

The last couple days I have made hard-boiled eggs for breakfast. The hard-boiled egg and I have a long history. As a child my mom would make me “soft-boiled eggs” I would put it on the egg stand, crack the top with a small metal spoon and slowly dig into the egg until I found the gooey yellow center. I also went through a phase where I added butter to the hard-boiled egg and watch it melt. I don’t know why I did this, but it was delicious.

When I grew up and cooked for myself, I realized I didn’t know the first thing about properly boiling an egg.

I assumed that boiling an egg was like boiling pasta. Step one: boil water. Step two: add food. WRONG!!! Eggs don’t like to be submerged into boiling water. They break. I’m sad to say it took more than one bad experience to realize this.

The second thing I learned was over cooking causes the gross green/gray yolk to show up. I really can’t start the eggs and leave them boiling for somewhere between 5 minutes to “I’m not sure, I lost track.” There is a reason they call it an egg timer. …You know Sam-I-Am from Green Eggs and Ham? He over boiled his eggs and spent far too much energy trying to pawn them off on some unsuspecting Seuss character (is it a dog?). Oh, and don’t get me started on what he did with the ham! The bottom line is: don’t be like Sam-I-Am, time your eggs!

Through trial and error, then giving up and asking my sister-in-law, I came to these very specific instructions for boiling an egg.

1. Fill the pot with clean water. Make sure you have enough water to completely cover the eggs.

2. Place the eggs in the pot, but keep them at a single layer.

3. Bring the pot to a boil. Keep it at a rolling boil for one minute.

4. Shut the heat off, but keep the eggs and water in the pan. Let the Eggs sit for 10 minutes.

5. Take the eggs out of the water. Cool under cold water, peel and eat (or store in the fridge).

Voila! Perfectly cooked hard-boiled eggs!!!

All photos taken from google image search

