Tags

, ,

My life has become a to-do list.

…That was the passive way of saying, I have turned my life into a to-do list. I have brought this upon myself, really. I wanted to become more organized; have a place for everything and everything in its place. What is the best way to become organized? Make a list! I make lists all the time. Those lists are followed to completion 5% of the time. I am close, however, to getting my house done!

This week I did some big projects like cleaning out the garage, putting a year’s worth of “to be filed” paperwork into files and going through a large stack of unlabeled or poorly labeled CDs. This is the most successful I have been with re-organizing my life’s belongings since I got married and committed myself to a husband with minor hoarding tendencies: I still haven’t convinced him to get rid of a box filled with fishing magazines that he hasn’t looked at for at least 3 years. There are only two things left on my list: shampoo the carpets and price the garage sale items for this weekend’s garage sale. Obviously the latter has a deadline, and the former will probably get done soon too.

Pricing garage sale items makes me nervous. I am coming to terms with being old enough that I have accumulated enough unnecessary belongings to have a garage sale. It took me a while to accept that fact. Now I am trying to come up with the right prices for the items. I want to get rid of this stuff, but I don’t want to give it away. I’m not a good investor or economist and I don’t always know what things are worth. I mean, know how much I paid, but I don’t know what they are worth at a garage sale. Perhaps I should have done my research and looked at garage sales in the area to price compare, but I would have probably brought home more stuff, and that’s not the point! On my dining room table sits a package of brightly colored stickers waiting to be given numbers. I feel like I am about to fail a math exam. At least I’ll get to cross it off my list when I’m done.

 

