Tags

,

My Mom came down to visit me last night. We hadn’t seen each other in six or seven weeks and thought it was time to catch up. We went out to Panera. On our way into the restaurant she asked what was going on in my life. I said, “Not a lot” and left it with an awkward pause. She replied, “Well that won’t help us keep a conversation!” We went in, ordered and sat down. She gave me an anniversary gift from her recent trip to Asia as well as some things she found while going through some old boxes at home.

My Mom and I have always had a good relationship. She has always supported me and is proud of my life choices. We never had a falling out. We also never had a conversation like the one we had last night….

My Mom is a strong woman. I have heard that from people who have only spent a minute or two with her. Last night I had never seen her stronger. She opened up to me and was honest about past failures, mistakes, downfalls and footholds. She allowed me to do the same. I was never able to be as honest with her as I was last night. We sat at Panera for far too long and left only because I didn’t want to cry there – I failed. I don’t want to go into too much detail, but I think I can firmly say that last night’s conversation was one that will affect the rest of my life in a very good way.

I love my Mom.

